2016: Let’s do this.

New Year’s resolutions…

I don’t really like them, because I rarely stick to them and then I feel bad. Whilst trying to get to grips with the new Runkeeper app this morning (I know, it probably changed ages ago), I accidentally set myself a goal (I can’t even remember what it was) and then got really annoyed that I had. Whilst running, I pondered over why I was so annoyed. I think I have just realised that for every day life, I can’t keep setting goals and then not meeting them. I appreciate that targets/goals/resolutions can be motivational, but I’m not feeling it this year. I can’t keep beating myself up over things I don’t achieve, because I end up focussing on those, despite other achievements.

So this year, I have just decided that I might do more or less of certain things. It’s not measurable (for me, this is a new thing); I see them more as intentions as opposed to specific goals I MUST achieve in order to be a very good person.

This year I would like to do more of the following:

  • blogging
  • regular exercise
  • playing my violin
  • read for pleasure

 

I propose to do less of the following:

  • working late (less, not cut out entirely)
  • eating chocolate and cake (as above)
  • moaning about all the new year’s resolutions I haven’t kept

I think this is all pretty manageable, and if I don’t achieve some of these, I’ll just start again and try harder, which is fine.   I’ll let you know this time how it’s gone this time next year.

Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

